The Mike Cutmore Website!


Jeepers Creepers (15)
19/10/01 SHOWCASE Bluewater, Kent

Posted as a terrifying drama and a 'number one' US 'horror' flick (on the very film poster itself), this is the kind of movie that makes you jump out of your seat. I found it actually unpredictable, and it is unusual for me to jump in shock, but this movie almost succeeded in scaring the **it out of me!

There is something about the timely direction and nature in the way that this is put together that intrigues to shock and causes you to grip the edge of your seat, particularly with the power of theatre sound. Certain aspects of this film reminded me of the characteristics of movies that I have enjoyed in the past. Maybe the director was inspired or influenced perhaps remotely by Steven Spielberg's 'Duel' or the 'Predator' series of films? Suspense is the essence here, forget gore and guts, this one is as much psychological as anything else. It slowly brews your fear hormones and it's only really at the expense of poor 'just as if I'd do that myself' screenplay!

This is a very weird one though folks. If you can't put up with that aspect as well then it may not work for you, but I must say that I was significantly impressed by the certain uniqueness and homely feel that only changed as the story unfolded into the frightening drama that was surely promised. I wasn't unconvinced that even a 'pinch of Hitchcock' had been 'thrown in' as well! All in all this is a superbly fashioned (albeit American) and creepy piece of work that might provoke a bad dream or two perhaps. Remember the 'bogeyman' when you were young? You will here! God forbid.