The Mike Cutmore Website!


Millennium dome

To: [email protected]

From: Mike Cutmore

Sent: 20/03/00

Subject: My visit to the dome

Dear Daily Dome,

I just had to take the opportunity to forward you my story on my Dome visit. My friends & relatives including myself knew no one personally that had actually had first hand experience of a visit & I was very eager to put at rest any prejudices on the Dome that might exist due to its initial press controversy. I visited 'The Millennium experience' exhibition in Greenwich before the Dome was built back in 1998 & I have a copy of the concept book from that time. How different the artist's impressions look in reality! Anyway I paid a visit on 18th March and this is the story...

My first glimpse of the Dome came as I vacated the new North Greenwich platform (after literally riding on what must be the quietest underground train in existence). From what I'd heard I had perceived the structure of the Dome to be actually somewhat larger than this. It looked very new but not necessarily futuristic. A large tent really!

Ushered on around the side eventually passing a very inviting McDonald's, it was decided to indeed go for the big breakfast. The most spacious McDonald's I have ever seen- tidy & everything you want on earn. I could actually move in this one! Video screens- this was unheard of- very entertaining- I had a feeling I was in for a good day!

Ten am tolled and I strolled casually toward the 'very inviting Dome'. A large video screen welcome- but there were menus of timings for queues to various 'zones~ ranging from 1minute to 3minutes & reams & reams of performance times for 'skyscape' & 'Blackadder' & a 'millennium show'- what on earth were these? Might involve some planning? - But I was here to enjoy myself! APGHH!

Within seconds was inside, - Spacious- but I wouldn't say massive.

Where first then? I'm going to try this one 'The Work zone'- Clocking in machine's- production lines- in a factory- I'm familiar with this. So what I thought, onto the next.

I got the impression this was designed to be an awareness exercise'[- lots of wall banners & lots yes lots of TV screens & TV screens & TV screens- but these weren't your Sony Trinitrons- these were £3000 a throw gas plasma slim windscreen 'hang on the Waller's- No wonder everything cost so much!

The Dome doesn't give a museum atmosphere, it doesn't give an 'entertainment' or 'thrill' atmosphere, - it tries to give an '[awareness' or 'learning' appreciation atmosphere of the kind of things we take for granted - like life. - It could even be accused of trying to pass this message on- to the kids among us! But they were to busy pressing all the buttons! It wasn't until 'Home Planet' that I was then taken for a ride (no seat belts needed though)! This was a fairly impressive interactive Digital projection- smells & sounds included- but this one really was for the kids! What's next? More TV screens- I know -I'll go on the net & have a surf- what's this-'cyber cafe' but it's £1 for 10 minutes! - Bye bye!

I remember being promised high street prices here- McDonald's was about right but a cup of coffee is at least £1 & SO is a ruddy sandwich! - Conned yet again!

Everything is in a different enough environment here & the time goes quite quickly & I'm certainly not bored but as the day wears on the queues get longer & longer & longer & you guessed it longer & you even find yourself queuing 20-25mins for a walk though a zone that's interesting enough to take 5 minutes to walk through- something is wrong here! Beware - the queues are very cleverly disguised because they go around in circles having been strapped off. The Millennium show in the central arena is nothing short of spectacular and this forty-five minute show was worth well over half of my twenty quid! This goes one step further than the 'circus 'big top- there is no animals but they're sure is a high wire act and a half! The music is good too (Peter Gabriel).

Don't miss this one!

It wasn't as if at any stage I wasn't being asked my opinion, every 5 minutes or so it was 'vote for this & vote for that' -As ill could change what would actually be an outcome- hardly political democracy!

I managed to 'cram in' virtually everything in 9 hours - You can really rest in the rest zone- a weird darkened bubble of nothing but soothing music tones & dim lighting (yawn)! The sad fact is I saw no one smile at all during my visit & people were actually ordered to smile on their exit by the roaming entertainer's (jokingly)!

The Dome was amusing when you were not queuing & it did make a great day- No Americana's' there- a few French perhaps? Not bad, but it's so easy to see why it really cost so much. - Televisions don't come cheap! You've got to see it - as the badge says- been there, Dome that!