The Mike Cutmore Website!


DEAR JOHN (12A)
16/04/10 Cineworld, Braintree

Faced with my latest select visit to the Cinema for what must be a year now, it was extremely difficult to choose between the epic 3D features and hyped American kiddie busters that are overflowing the ranks. Even some of the British offerings seemed a little tacky at least viewing the trailers in order to make my hard choice.

I admit that I was somewhat disappointed too by the trailer for this Romantic drama between John and Savannah.....Dear John...how wrong I was!!

This movie refreshingly did not tend to dwell on any particular aspect of a plot and I found myself almost following it deeply in real time within my mind toward quite typical outcomes of everyday life that either unexpectedly or inevitably arrive within a real world.

This didn't even depict anything extraordinary either and was very pleasant because it kept me completely entranced throughout its entirety. Strangely almost because of this, any intense tear jerk aspect wasn't necessarily overly powerful and the whole film impeccably carried itself through to become labelled a superb somewhat thought provoking piece of work.

I was impressed overall by every aspect of this movie, the cast, acting, music and overall presentation coming in pretty much flawlessly throughout its entirety and this I think is unusual in it given the difficulty of how this kind of feature could be made and how some of this type of drama has otherwise been contrived in manufacture before by American production and afternoon TV.

So forget your hard rock titan remakes, converted 3D tar and glossy pug-ug humor tut that's out there at the moment and come out more pleasantly entertained with some real world belt and braces cinema!

This superb film deserves so much more.

Official Site