The Mike Cutmore Website!


Annoying TV ads
Saturday, Aug. 15, 2009

Whatever happened to those good old TV advertisements of the 70's or even '80's?

Now that advertising revenue is no longer funding the independent channels that well, and it seems, we licence payers are funding just about everything else under the sun, it seems that the quality of adverts has also taken a massive dive into the abyss whilst the quantity of these adverts is now fourfold.

Sing along now (just like those bad xfactor contestants....) "I still believe, give me a sign......" -that awful advert for,- what is it some mobile phone network?

Or what about "My pretty one...My Sherona" ...(I'll never ever buy Oatibix again..)..." Oh no no no...you don't love me anymore" - I certainly wouldn't ever try Churchill car insurance!

"Here I go again on my own, going down the only road I've ever known" .. now I really don't even know what most of these are for.

All of these adverts are SO ANNOYING that it really has got to the stage and need for muting TV sound very very quickly, since turning channels nearly always simply moves you not to real TV, but simply very well timed and synchronised advert sections on the other side meaning that whatever you do you simply CANNOT avoid them!

My conclusion is that the phychology in all of this is really to get us so brainwashed into singing really horrible infectious tunes that we just end up buying the product!! Sorry..it is NOT WORKING AT ALL, whatever your surveys say.

"Ive got the power"....I certainly wish I had, because "I'm easy...easy like Sunday morning"

The future is TV on demand I'm afraid, and the BBC iplayer has come from strength to strength in all this...lovely- No more of those horrible adverts- me heartys.